Kent Community Rail Partnership

aylesford bridge

Latest News

Event Gallery

Sixteen months on from being awarded a new Community Rail line from Ashford to Otford, we were able to officially open our Kent Downs Line at Maidstone East station on November 18th 2021. Our Chair Chris Fribbins cut the ribbon before we embarked on a train journey along part of the new line to discuss some of the exciting projects that are underway.The event was not just to celebrate the launch of the Kent Downs Line opening but also to recognise all our volunteers this year, who have given up their time to make a difference and support us with our events and activities.Members from our Swale Rail and Medway Valley Line gave presentations to share the activities that have taken place over the last 12 months and highlight some plans in store for the year ahead. As well as an entertaining quiz about each of our lines. Thank you to all those involved in making this a special day and thank you again to both the Community Rail Network and Southeastern for their continued support. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

Plan your journey now.

Our Network

Our Lines

The Medway Valley Line runs alongside the beautiful river Medway connecting  Tonbridge and Strood via Maidstone, the County Town of Kent.  Direct services to London operate from Maidstone West, Snodland and Strood in on weekday mornings and evenings using Javelin High Speed trains.

The Kent Downs Line runs to the south of the Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty between Ashford and Otford via Maidstone, the County Town of Kent. Trains run from Ashford on to the Kent coast and from Otford on to London. Good connections are provided at Ashford to and from High Speed services to Ebbsfleet, Stratford International and St Pancras International. 

Swale Rail is the Sittingbourne to Sheerness line which connects the Isle of Sheppey to the rest of Kent. Some direct services to London run on weekday mornings and evenings. Train services on both Swale Rail and the Medway Valley line are operated by Southeastern Railway Ltd, part of the Govia consortium. Community Rail Partnerships (CRP) encourage the support of railway lines and stations by the local community comprising railway operators, local and parish councils, schools, businesses, rail user groups (RUGs) and other community organisations. CRPs are managed to fit local circumstances, recognising the need to increase revenue, reduce costs, increase community involvement and support social and economic development. The Partnership has been hosted by Sustrans since April 2014.

For more information about Community Rail Partnerships in Kent contact Therese Hammond on 07917 131248, Andy Place on 07920 088441 or Gary Outram 07787 434258.

Our Activities

Our activities range from school activities, organising community events, station adoption and working with volunteers.

Our Funding

Funding for the Kent Community Rail Partnership is currently provided by


Barming Parish Council

Community Rail Network (Previously ACoRP)

East Malling & Larkfield Parish Council

Kent County Council

Medway Council

RailFuture (London and Southeast)

Snodland Town Council

Southeastern Railway

Yalding Parish Council

The Kent Community Rail Partnership is hosted by Sustrans.
Sustrans is a registered charity in England and Wales (number 326550) and Scotland (SC039263) and a company limited by guarantee registered in England No 1797726 at 2 Cathedral Square, Bristol, BS1 5DD